List of 4 Adi Shakti Peeth


The Shakti Peeth is a place of worshipping ‘Goddess Shakti’ also called ‘Goddess Sati’ (embodiment of Goddess Parvati) as the main deity. Goddess Sati, also known as ‘Dakshayini’, an aspect of ‘Goddess Adi Parashakti’ is believed to be the Goddess of marital happiness and long life. Goddess Sati is the embodiment of Goddess Shakti (goddess of harmony) and also called such as Goddess Durga (goddess of strength) and Goddess Kali (goddess of destruction of evil).

In Shakti Peeth “Shakti” refers to the Goddess worshiped at each location, all being manifestations of Dakshayani (Sati), Parvati or Durga. Peeth is “Body Part or Ornament” refers to the body part or piece of jewelry that fell to earth, at the location on which the respective temple is built.

Sr. No. Place Body Part or Ornament
1 Puri, Odisha (inside Jagannath Temple complex) Pada Bimala
2 Berhampur, Odisha Breast khanda Tara Tarini
3 Guwahati, Assam Yoni khanda Kamakhya
4 Kolkata, West Bengal (Kalighat Kali Temple) Mukha khanda Dakshina Kalika


Apart from these 4 there are 51 other famous Peethas recognized by religious texts. According to the Pithanirnaya Tantra, the 51 peethas are scattered all over India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan, and Pakistan. The Shivacharita besides listing 51 maha-peethas, speaks about 26 more upa-peethas. The Bengali almanac, Vishuddha Siddhanta Panjika too describes the 51 peethas including the present modified addresses. A few of the several accepted listings are given below. One of the few in South India, Srisailam in Andhra Pradesh became the site for a 2nd-century temple.

Content Source

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here