The List of 18 Maha Shakti Peeth


The Shakti Peeth are significant shrines and pilgrimage destinations in Shaktism, the goddess-focused Hindu tradition. There are 52 or 108 Shakti peeth by various accounts, of which between 4 to 18 are named as Maha (major) in medieval Hindu texts. Most of these historic places of goddess worship are in India, but some are in Nepal, Bangladesh, and one each in Tibet (Mansarovar), Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Various legends explain how the Shakti peeth came into existence. The most popular is based on the story of the death of goddess Sati. Out of grief and sorrow, Shiva(God) carried Sati’s body reminiscing their moments as a couple, and roamed around the universe with it. Vishnu had cut her body into 52 body parts using his Sudarshana Chakra which fell on Earth to become holy spots to pray to the Goddess named Shakti Peeth, to complete this massively long task, Lord Shiva took the form of Bhairav.

The modern cities or towns that correspond to these 64 locations can be a matter of dispute, but there are a few that are totally unambiguous, these are mentioned in the Ashta Dasa Shakti Peeth Stotram by Adi Shankara.

This list contains 18 such locations which are often referred to as Maha Shakti Peeth

Sr. No. Place Appellation Part of the body fallen Shakti
1 Trincomalee (Sri Lanka) Sankari Peetham Groin Sankari devi
2 Kanchi (Tamil Nadu) Kanchi Kamakodi Peetham Naval Kamakshi Devi
3 Pandua, hoogly district (West Bengal) Pradyumna Peetham Stomach Shrinkala Devi
4 Mysore (Karnataka) Krounja Peetham Hair Chamundeshwari devi
5 Alampur (Telangana) Yogini Peetham Upper teeth Jogulamba devi (Yogamba devi)
6 Srisailam, (Andhra Pradesh) Srisaila Peetham Neck part Bhramaramba devi
7 Kolhapur (Maharashtra) Shri Peetham Left eye Mahalakshmi devi
8 Mahur (Nanded District, Maharashtra) Renuka Peetham Back part Renuka Devi
9 Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh) Ujjaini Peetham Elbow Mahakali devi
10 Pithapuram (Andhra Pradesh) Pushkarini Peetham Left hand Puruhutika devi
11 Jajpur (Odisha) Oddyana Peetham Naval(Navi) Biraja Devi
12 Draksharamam (Andhra Pradesh) Draksharama Peetham Navel Manikyamba devi
13 Guwahati (Assam) Kamarupa Peetham Vulva Kamarupa devi
14 Prayaga (Uttar Pradesh) Prayaga Peetham Fingers Madhaveswari devi
15 Kangra, Jwalamukhi (Himachal Pradesh) Jwalamukhi Peetham Head Part Vaishnavi devi
16 Gaya (Bihar) Gaya Peetham Breast part Sarvamangala devi
17 Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh) Varanasi Peetham Throat Vishalakshi devi
18 Jammu and Kashmir Saraswati Peetham Lips Saraswati devi


Content Source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here